Universities in India can be established in multiple ways: through Central Act, Provincial Act, or State Act. All Universities in India must be recognized and approved by the University Grants Commission (UGC). The UGC is a statutory body set up by the Indian Union government in accordance with the UGC Act 1956 under Ministry of Human Resource Development and is charged with coordination, determination, and maintenance of standards of higher education.The Central Government provides grants to the UGC. The Central Government is also responsible for declaring an educational institution as "Deemed-to-be University" on the recommendations of the UGC.

At present in India, the following are the main categories of University/University-level Institutions:

  • Central Universities - A university established or incorporated by a Central Act.
  • State Universities - A university established or incorporated by a Provincial Act or by a State Act.
  • Deemed-to-be Universities – An institution deemed to be a university as declared by Central Government under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission (UGC) Act, 1956.
  • Private Universities - A university established through a State/Central Act by a sponsoring body viz. A Society registered under the Societies Registration Act 1860, or any other corresponding law for the time being in force in a State or a Public Trust or a Company registered under Section 25 of the Companies Act, 1956.
  • The institution under State Legislature Act - An Institution established or incorporated by a State Legislature Act.
  • The institution of National Importance - An Institution established by Act of Parliament and declared as Institution of National Importance by the Centre.

SRM University Sikkim came to be in Oct of 2013 with the passage of The ShriRamasamy Memorial University, Sikkim Act 2013. The Act was passed in the Sikkim Legislative Assembly on the 9th Oct 2013. You can obtain the details of the actual Act by clicking on the link listed below.

The Sri Ramasamy Memorial University, Sikkim Act 2013




© SRM University - Sikkim, India. All rights reserved